TEX-MEX QUINOA STUFFED PEPPERS

ImageI just made my to-do list for work this week. There are five things on it. That’s right, five. For a whole week. And I already did one of them. So I guess that means there are really only four. I could probably come up with other things to do, but eh. What’s the point? Summers are slow around here. I feel like we bust our butts all year long, so once the fiscal year ends, I kind of just want to slow down and relax for a few weeks. I just wish I was slowing down and relaxing at the beach… not at my desk. 

Alas. Here I am. (sigh) I guess this means I have plenty of time to tell you about these quinoa stuffed peppers I made last night. Don’t let my sigh fool you– They were delish. I’m looking forward to leftovers tonight.

The only red bell peppers I could find in the store were GINORMOUS. Yet, I still had plenty of filling leftover, which tastes great on its own. So you could choose to stuff this in the peppers or… not. They were a little more time consuming than I thought they would be. It just took me a while to get all the ingredients together. Nevermind that I was distracted by the real housewives drama going on in the background… That Vicki is cray.

TEX-MEX STYLE QUINOA STUFFED PEPPERS

Image

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of uncooked quinoa
  • 3-4 large red bell peppers
  • 1 cup of black beans
  • 1/2 cup of corn
  • 1/4 cup of green chiles
  • 1 jalapeno, diced
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of feta cheese crumbles
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of another shredded cheese of your choice (see note below)
  • 3/4 of a orange bell pepper, diced (optional, see note 2 below)
  • a big handful of fresh cilantro, chopped
  • cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Cook quinoa according to package instructions. 

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Combine quinoa, black beans, corn, chiles, jalapeno, feta, tomatoes, cilantro, shredded cheese, and orange pepper (if using) in a large bowl. Then go to town adding your cumin, garlic powder, chili powder, salt and pepper until the mix has a good flavor. 

Cut the tops of the red peppers off and scoop out the seeds and seams from the insides. Spoon the quinoa mixture into the red peppers until they are stuffed to the brim. Add some more shredded cheese to the top.

Set stuffed red peppers in a baking dish lined with aluminum foil and olive oil. Set the tops of the peppers back on as best you can. Bake for 25-35 minutes, until your red peppers are pretty soft and somewhat prune-y. Let cool for a few minutes before digging in. 

Note: I have this block of cheese that I keep using. But I threw away the original packaging so I don’t know what kind of cheese it is. If you have pepper jack or something that shreds nicely (vs. grating, like parmesan does), use that. 

Note 2: I had a bit of an orange pepper that I just threw in here b/c I needed to use it. If you aren’t serving the quinoa in a pepper, I definitely recommend adding the pepper. But since I served this in peppers, the extra pepper wasn’t needed. That’s why I said it’s optional. 

Leave a Reply

