POACHED EGGS IN TOMATO SAUCE

Poached eggs in tomato sauce3

Hey guys, I’m back! It’s been a very busy month, and I feel like I’ve been on quite a hiatus from the blog. My apologies!  But I’m back with a stellar recipe that you should make tonight! It’s perfect for this snowy Monday (btw, snow in the last week of March? What’s up with that?!). I bet you already have the ingredients. And trust me, it’s easier than it sounds.

I’ve been wanting to try poaching an egg for almost a year now. Last year, around this time, Bon Appetit magazine featured all different ways to make eggs. And of course, one of them was poaching. But I was nervous to try it. I’ve heard it’s really hard, and I thought I needed special equipment.  I’ve  been in the kitchen when my brother-in-law, aka Poach Master Pat, has stood over a pot of hot water, cursing as egg yolks have opened, whites have not held together, and end results have not been as desired– aka more solid than gooey. But I have to give Pat credit, he’s gotten the poaching down. We don’t call him Poach Master Pat for nothing. So not only have I been afraid to try poaching eggs– I’ve also been lazy. Why poach them myself when we have a Poach Master in the family?

But last night I was feeling ambitious.  So I sat down to Google how to poach an egg and came across a recipe for poaching eggs in tomato sauce. I had all of the ingredients on hand and decided to just go for it. It also looked a lot easier than poaching an egg in a pot of water, which, don’t worry, I still intend to try soon enough. I served the eggs on warm toast with a side of sauteed, shredded brussel sprouts.

POACHED EGGS IN TOMATO SAUCE

Poached eggs in tomato sauce

Poached eggs in tomato sauce2

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of diced tomatoes, drained (mine already had onions and roasted garlic in the can, but you could use plain)
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of tomato sauce (plain tomato sauce from a can), optional
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 tbsp of olive oil
  • A dash of crushed red pepper, optional
  • A dash of cumin, optional
  • 3-4 eggs
  • your choice of bread, toasted (I used an Ezekiel sesame bun since that’s what I had in the freezer)

Directions:

Puree your diced tomatoes in a food processor or blender until relatively smooth.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and saute for about 30 seconds, or until fragrant. Add the pureed tomatoes. If using, add the tomato sauce. (It looked like I did not have enough sauce in the pan to poach the eggs from my tomatoes alone. So I added a bit more from a can I had in my pantry. The bottom of the pan should be covered by about an inch or two of sauce.) Add cumin and crushed red pepper. Stir well.

Continue to heat the sauce until it is hot and a bit bubbly.

In a small bowl, crack 1 egg. You cannot use eggs with broken yolks here, so crack the eggs in a bowl first so that you can ensure you do not have broken yolks or egg shells. Transfer the egg into the pan. Repeat with remaining eggs.

You can push the egg whites gently back together in the pan. Cover with a lid and let simmer over low to medium heat for about 5 minutes. Do not leave them in the pan for too long or your yolks will set. When you remove the cover, the egg whites should be set and the yolks should still be pretty jiggly. Remove from heat, but leave in the pan for a few more minutes.

Serve with eggs on the toast and extra sauce on the side.

Note: You could also use this as a starting point for many other recipes. Like huevos rancheros, or instead of toast, serve over wilted greens. There are many different possibilities! Get creative! And share in the comments below. 

Recipe adapted from marthastewart.com.

Leave a Reply

