Mixed vegetable hash with fried eggs

ImageYou guys, this recipe was so good that I wanted to blog about it right away. But I was too lazy to get off the couch last night to go get my lap top, which doesn’t even have wifi… because I’m too lazy to go buy a router. I debated typing it from my phone. But I was too lazy for that too. I can send text messages equivalent to the length of a novella, but if I have to type a long email or a blog post from my phone… forget it.

First thing this morning is good enough, right? Even though it’s not really first thing…

So, now that I’m at a desktop computer with full internet access and an ergonomic keyboard, I can share the details of this delicious meal I made last night! I had seen a similar recipe on pinterest, which is where I got the inspiration. However, I never clicked on the actual link to look up the recipe. Only the picture. So really, I made this up. I love when I get to say that I made up a recipe all on my own! It makes me feel super Top Chef.

As most random recipes start for me, I had some veggies in the fridge that were on their last leg. And since Baltimore is posting these crazy weird billboards about eating your food before it goes bad (has anyone seen those? I just unsuccessfully tried googling one just now to include a link but I can’t remember exactly what they said or what the ad was actually for), I figured I should use them up. You could probably use whatever vegetables you have in the fridge, but I’d say the keys were the brussel sprouts and the potatoes. So start there and then add on. But don’t forget the spices and the fried eggs! So yum!

MIXED VEGETABLE HASH WITH FRIED EGGS

Image

Ingredients:

  • 1 half of a large russet potato, thinly sliced into round discs
  • 1- 1 1/2 cups of shaved brussel sprouts
  • 1/4 of a red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/4 of a zucchini, diced
  • 1/4 of a large shallot, diced
  • 1/2 cup of little zima tomatoes, sliced in half (these are small, like cherry tomatoes, but are orange and pretty sweet)
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3-4 tablespoons of olive oil
  • about a tsp of cumin, maybe a little more
  • a dash of nutmeg
  • 1 tsp of Mexican oregano leaves (you can use regular if you don’t have these, or omit them)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tbsp of butter
  • salt, pepper and crushed red pepper to taste

Directions,

Mix the potatoes and a tsp of olive oil in a large mixing bowl with a bit of salt and pepper. Stir well to coat.

Heat 1 tbsp of olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Place the potato slices in a single layer in the pan. Let them cook for a few minutes until they start to brown.

In the meantime, put the brussel sprouts, peppers, zucchini, shallots, garlic, salt, pepper, cumin, nutmeg, oregano, salt and pepper in the mixing bowl. Add a bit more olive oil. Stir well to coat.

Flip the potatoes again and let them brown a bit on the other side. Add the veggie mixture to the pan and saute for several minutes, mixing everything together, including the potatoes. Feel free to add more spices as you are cooking.

Once your vegetables seem pretty well cooked (they are soft and browning a bit on the edges), make two little openings in the pan for where you will drop your eggs. Add a bit of butter to each opening. Crack the eggs and pour each into one of the openings. Let them fry for a few minutes, until the whites are white and pretty solid. I like my eggs kind of runny, so I like to leave the yolk runny. You can flip the eggs if you want to cook them through a little bit more. While the eggs are cooking, you may need to move the vegetables around a bit on the edges so they don’t burn to the pan.

Top with a bit of crushed red pepper and serve!

Image

Image

One thought on “Mixed vegetable hash with fried eggs

Leave a Reply

