VEGGIE PIZZA

veggie pizza 2It’s no secret that I love pizza. In fact, I think I’ve eaten it 3 or 4 times this week. Last night I had the best white pizza at Social Pie and Pub in Baltimore. But the night before I made my own pizza with a bunch of veggies that I had in my fridge and wanted to use up. I got home late and needed something easy to make for dinner. I had a store-bought, pre-rolled, thin pizza crust in the fridge. So I whipped out my handy dandy mandolin and prepared this little gem. It’s pretty similar to the pizza I posted the other day, but I think the black olives and shiitake mushrooms really added to the flavor. So did the thin crust. It probably would have been better if I had made/rolled my own dough, but I liked having the thin crust here.

VEGGIE PIZZA

veggie pizza

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup of shitake mushrooms
  • 1/4 of a potato
  • 4-5 brussel sprouts
  • 1/2 of a jalapeno
  • black olives
  • 1/4 of a red onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tbsp of butter, melted
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • a handful of fresh thyme leaves
  • grated parmesan cheese to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • crushed red pepper (if you’re into that)
  • a thin crust pizza dough, or whatever dough you want

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees. If using a pizza stone (which I did), put it in the oven in advance and allow it to heat up for at least 45 minutes.

Thinly slice your potato, onion, jalapeno and olives on a mandolin. I use the 1/4 setting. Shave the brussel sprouts on the mandolin. Put the potatoes in a bowl with a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper and mix well, coating the potatoes.

Combine the butter, garlic and olive oil in a small bowl. Spread over your pizza dough/crust. Place the potatoes sporadically on your crust. Put the pizza in the oven and allow to bake for 8-10 minutes. The potatoes take longer to cook than the other vegetables, which is why you need to put them in first.

Put all of your remaining veggies in the same bowl that the potatoes were in. Add a little extra olive oil or leftover garlic butter sauce, salt and pepper, and thyme. Mix well, coating the veggies.

Pull the pizza with the potatoes out of the oven. You can either leave it on the stone and pull out your top rack of the oven to top the rest of the pizza. Or you can remove it from the stone and transfer it to a work surface, which is what I did this time since my crust was pretty sturdy.

Top the pizza with the veggies, strategically or sporadically. It’s up to you. Grate the parmesan cheese on top. Put the pizza back in the oven for another 10-15 minutes, depending on how you like your crust. The veggies should be a bit brown and the cheese should be melted.

Top with crushed red pepp, grab a glass of red wine and enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

