ASPARAGUS SOUP

asparagus soup 2Okay people. It’s time to get excited. I’ve been wanting a Vitamix ever since I first learned what they are. (If you don’t know, Vitamix is rumored to be THE blender of all blenders. And I believe the rumors.) I’m currently entering the HGTV dream home contest every day, twice a day, and one of the things I am most excited about is that the house comes with a Vitamix. Fingers crossed! On Thursday night, I was talking to a handsome gentleman who mentioned that he owns a Vitamix. He instantly became that much more attractive to me and I found myself inching closer and closer to his seat, plotting in my head how I could gain access to this man’s fine piece of [kitchen] machinery. I know. It’s so weird that I’m still single. I really don’t get it…

Anyway, two days later, my sister texted me and told me she finally took the plunge and bought a Vitamix and invited me over for a crazy avocado, arugula, lemon, and banana smoothie. (If you don’t know,  THE blender of all blenders is quite pricey.) This news was about the only thing that was getting me out of bed on Saturday morning after a very late night working at the bar. So, I spent most of my weekend at my sister’s apartment, experimenting with the Vitamix and pouring over the recipe book that it came with. We made 3 different smoothies and asparagus soup.

As if quality time with my sister, her Vitamix, and the Shahs of Sunset wasn’t enough to make me have the best weekend ever, my mom topped it off with the news that she’s getting a bonus check and wants to buy me a Vitamix!!! So, soon, people, I will be the proud, braggy owner of my very own Vitamix! I can jump on the detox smoothie bandwagon. Make all kinds of soups. Whip up my own salsa. Stop overstaying my welcome at my sister’s. Scrap those plans to make this boy with the Vitamix fall in love with me… or keep ’em. The possibilities are endless!

ASPARAGUS SOUP

asparagus soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • 3/4 cup of vegetable broth
  • 3/4 cup of soy milk
  • 1/2 of a white or yellow onion
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • a dash of garlic powder
  • grated parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions:

Put the broth and soy milk in the Vitamix first. Then add the asparagus. Turn the Vitamix to variable 1 and turn it on. Quickly turn it up to variable 10, then flip the switch from variable to high. Leave it on like that for a min or two.

Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a small pot. Add the onions and dash of garlic, sauteing until fragrant and the onions are translucent. Pour the asparagus puree into the pot and heat for several minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Transfer everything from the pot back to the Vitamix. Turn the Vitamix to variable 1 and turn it on. Quickly turn it up to variable 6 or 7. Then flip the switch to high. Leave it on and blending for about 5 minutes. Your soup should be piping hot and well blended at the end. You may want to add more or less broth and soy milk, depending on how thick you want your soup.

Serve in a small mug or bowl with parmesan cheese grated on top. Mmmmm!

Note: That first picture is a little shout out to Dunton Hot Springs in Colorado. I’ve never been but my sister and Pat went there for their honeymoon and it looks like the most awesome, relaxing, delicious, green, cozy get away! And here’s a picture of the Vitamix itself:

Vitamix

Leave a Reply

