WILD RICE WITH TOFU AND MISO DRESSING

wild rice and tofu

Friends. Allow me to introduce you to my FAVORITE recipe of 2013. What? We’re only 9 days into 2013? Eh. That’s neither here nor there. This recipe was freakin’ awesome. And I’ve only tried one other recipe so far this year. And I did not like it. So nevermind that the competition wasn’t steep. This recipe still rules.

My sister gave me the Sprouted Kitchen cookbook for Christmas, which in turned introduced me to their blog. The tagline is “a tastier take on whole foods,” which I love, especially in the new year, when you have a good excuse (not a resolution) to start fresh and get back to your roots. By roots I mean less processed foods. This is something I’m always trying to do– eat more whole foods. Sure, I keep the occasional Uncrustable or Healthy Choice frozen entree in my freezer for those days when I just can’t put the effort into healthy eating. But over the holidays I over indulged like it was nobody’s business. And I’m paying the price. I feel disgusting. So, it’s really important to me right now to kind of detox, eat less crap and GO RUNNING!

What I’m trying to say is that a tastier take on whole foods is something that’s really striking a chord with me at the moment. And the recipes in this book all look so good! I tried one last week that I can’t stop thinking about. I must confess the that recipe is not in the book, but I found it on the Sprouted Kitchen blog. It contains tofu, which I was nervous about because I’ve never successfully cooked tofu. I enjoy tofu, but I just suck at cooking it. But this time, it was a success! My first ever successful tofu adventure! How exciting!!! No? Hey, I was excited. Anywaaay. Sara from the Sprouted Kitchen gives good instructions for how to saute the tofu. Don’t be intimidated by some of the ingredients in this recipe, like white miso, which I had one heck of a time finding at Whole Foods (of all places). Tip: It’s in refrigerated section. Who knew. Anyway, the recipe was so yummy that you’ll want to make it again and again and will eventually use all of that miso and coconut oil you bought!

wild rice and tofu2

WILD RICE WITH TOFU AND MISO DRESSING

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup wild rice, cooked according to package instructions
  • 14 oz. block extra firm tofu
  • 2 tsp. coconut oil
  • 2 tsp. soy sauce or tamari
  • fresh ground pepper
  • 1 heaping cup thinly sliced carrots
  • 2-3 celery stalks, thinly sliced (this was my own addition)
  • 3/4 cup cooked, shelled, organic edamame
  • 3 Tbsp. toasted sesame seeds
  • Handful of Chopped Cilantro

For the Miso Dressing:

  • 2 tbsp. white miso
  • 2 tbsp. agave nectar or brown rice syrup (I had neither of these. So I used a few sprinkles of brown sugar.)
  • 1 tbsp. sesame oil
  • 2 1/2 tbsp. rice vinegar
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • Juice of half an Orange

Directions:

Cook the wild rice according to package directions. I did this and my rice seemed like it was burning. So I added more water about 3/4 of the way through cooking. What a difference it made! Saved my rice!

To cook the tofu, first you need to drain it and drain it well. Wrap the tofu between a few layers of paper towels, put something heavy on top so that the liquid is squeezed out, and set it aside to drain for 10-15 minutes. Once it is drained well, cut it into 1/2 cubes. I patted even more with the paper towels after I cut it.

Heat the coconut oil over medium high heat. Add the tofu and saute for about five minutes, turning it over and over in the pan. Sprinkle with soy sauce and cook for another few minutes until the edges are browned. Turn off heat and set aside. Whisk all of the dressing ingredients together.

In a large bowl, combine the rice, tofu, carrots, celery and edamame. Toss everything with the dressing. Add the sesame seeds and cilantro and give it another toss.

This can be served room temperature, chilled, or warm. I ate it warm the first time, and then room temperature the next day. It was so good!

Note: This was my first time cooking with coconut oil. When buying it, I didn’t know if I should get the expeller-pressed or not. I actually don’t even really know what that means. But the oil I bought was pressed… I think. When I opened it, it was hard, almost like wax from a candle. I was like what the…? But it actually was awesome to cook with. It didn’t burn off in the skillet like other oils will. I’ve cooked with it a few times since this recipe and have been really happy with the results.

recipe adapted from: the Sprouted Kitchen

One thought on “WILD RICE WITH TOFU AND MISO DRESSING

Leave a Reply

