Merry Christmas, Charlie Brown!

winter snowOkay, so I realize that technically Christmas is over and I should be posting about New Year’s or something… But give a girl a break. If there’s one thing you should have learned about me from reading this blog, it’s that I’m always a little late with my posts. But don’t worry. The New Year’s post is coming! I swear. Maybe even later today if we’re lucky. In the mean time, pretend that it’s a week ago and you’re reading this the day after Christmas, not the day after  New Year’s…

Christmas is a magical time of year. I know it’s become such a ridiculously commercial holiday. But I still think there’s something magical about Christmas morning. Something about the light. I can’t explain it. But when I’m sitting around with my family, eating cinnamon buns (a Christmas tradition in our family), opening our stockings full of toiletries and kitchen or office supplies, there’s just this magical feeling that I don’t want to ever go away.

But alas, it inevitably does. And the next thing you know the holidays are over and you’re back to work, depressed, unmotivated and wishing life was a permanent vacation. The one good thing is that you finally have time to write blog posts again! While I did do quite a bit of cooking over the holidays, I kind of forgot to take pictures of what I made. Oops! So you’ll have to imagine what the finished results look like and make do with the other holiday photos below.

This is my go-to holiday recipe– one that I make all the time for holiday parties and other random get togethers. I got the recipe from a co-worker a few years ago, but it’s become a staple in our family (and in my best friend’s family now too!). These spinach balls are relatively easy to make, but can be somewhat time consuming and messy… But I promise that they are delicious and worth every minute of having your hands covered in wet spinach!

SPINACH BALLS

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of butter or margarine
  • 2 boxes of frozen spinach, cooked and drained well
  • 2 cups of Pepperidge Farm stuffing crumbs (if you can’t find the crumbs, you can buy the cubes and pulse them in a food proccesser for a hot sec)
  • 2 tablespoons of chopped onions
  • 1 cup of parmesan cheese
  • 6 eggs, beaten
  • Dash of salt and pepper
  • Optional: ranch dressing for dipping

Directions:

Mix together all ingredients and refrigerate until mixture “sets up.” Pre-heat oven to 350. Form into balls and bake for 10-12 minutes.

Serve immediately, with ranch on the side for dipping and watch them disappear!

Note: If I am making these ahead of time (like the day before), I usually bake them until they are not quite done. Then right before I am serving them, I will put them back in the oven for about 5 minutes so that they can be served warm but do not burn. However, they still taste good at room temperature!

gordons tart

This was the dessert table on Christmas night. My step-dad makes this pear tart every year. It’s delicious! And this year my mom decided that as favors, she would give everyone in the family a mug with their initial on it (shown below). For the babies and kids who are too young for mugs, we gave them an ornament with their initial. The mugs and the ornaments are from Anthropologie.

ems crepe cake

My sister made this beautiful and delicious crepe cake for Christmas. She’s a professional cake decorator, so of course, it was a treat to look at!

winter snow 2

It was a white Christmas this year! Well, kind of. It snowed on Christmas Eve and the day after Christmas. Not enough to stick around. But it was cozy and beautiful nonetheless! 

christmas table

The table that I decorated. Please take note of the beautiful mantle in the background! I also decorated this. Sometimes I like to pretend I am Martha Stewart. But please ignore that the small tree on the right is not lit up. We ran out of lights and had to wait for my sister and brother-in-law to bring over a strand. Martha never would have let this happen. But luckily, Pat (my brother-in-law) saved Christmas! He even put the lights on the tree for us. Thanks, Pat! 

christmas morning

Christmas morning… Looks like Santa was here! 

One thought on “Merry Christmas, Charlie Brown!

  1. Trust us folks…these spinach balls are good and easy to pop in your mouth at a party…thanks for making them for my party Sar! Another creatively written post!

Leave a Reply

