KALE AND ROSEMARY SOUP

I love soup. I never knew how easy it was to make until recently. And now I just can’t stop trying different soup recipes. And by trying, I mean pinning. On Pinterest. Which is not real life. Which I must often remind myself.

This is a soup recipe that I’ve made twice and have grand plans to make again tonight to have for lunch tomorrow and Friday. But tonight, I am going to try adding egg noodles so that the soup has just a little bit more substance and in a way, resembles chicken noodle soup. But without the chicken. Or chicken broth. And add kale. Speaking of kale, have I ever mentioned that it’s my favorite vegetable? Or well, one of them. They say kale is a power food. Or is the term super food? Either way, it damn sure feels like one super powerful veggie. Whenever I’m feeling like I need a little detox or a little bit of super health food power in my life, I just steam up a bit of kale, sprinkle it with salt and pepp, and voila! I’m, like, totally revived! And as a bonus, this soup recipe, rich with that super power food kale, is very easy and quick and comforting on a cold winter day.

I originally found the idea for this recipe on, wait for it… Pinterest. I used it just as a starting point for a simple soup to make for dinner one night when I wanted to throw together something vegan. Luckily, since I never really followed the recipe, I memorized how to make this very quickly, and it’s a good thing because I just went to find the original post and got the dreaded “PAGE NOT FOUND” error message. (Does that mean I can say this is my very own original recipe?? I mean, it basically is.) My cousin asked me to send the link to her so she could make it for dinner tonight, and since it’s not there, all of my soupdujour readers are getting lucky with two blog posts in one day. You can thank my cousin and most faithful reader, Jaime… and the “PAGE NOT FOUND” error message.

kale and rosemary soup

KALE AND ROSEMARY SOUP

Ingredients:

  • 1 small yellow/white onion (or 1/2 of a large onion), diced
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • A few sprigs of fresh rosemary, chopped (or stems removed)
  • 1-2 carrots, peeled and chopped into small pieces
  • 1-2 celery stalks, cut into thin slices
  • 1-2 cups of kale, stems removed, broken into slightly larger than bite-size pieces
  • 1 can of cannellini beans (or navy beans, or any small white beans), drained and rinsed well
  • 4-5 cups of vegetable stock (or I am sure broth would work)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Heat the olive oil in a large pot or sauce pan. Add the onions and garlic and saute until fragrant. Add carrots and celery and saute for another minute or two. Add rosemary. Add vegetable stock, then the beans. Let it come to a boil and simmer until the carrots and celery are soft, about 10 minutes. Add kale and let simmer for a few minutes until the kale is soft. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve steamy with a good, hearty slice of bread (optional).

 

2 thoughts on “KALE AND ROSEMARY SOUP

  1. I made it tonight. I added some sliced green cabbage I had leftover. I also only had 4 cups of broth so I added water and vegetable “better than bouillon”. That made it richer. Then…the finishing touch…some shaved parm before serving. Yum! It’s a nice detox soup after all the crap I have been eating!

Leave a Reply

