WINTER QUINOA CHILI

It’s about time I posted a soup recipe on my blog, considering this is Soup du Jour. Chili is a form of soup, right? I think this recipe is a form of chili. It doesn’t have any chili powder in it, so I don’t know if that mean it’s not technically a chili. And it’s not quite winter yet, so I guess technically this should be called Fall Quinoa Chili. But I’m not really in the mood to get technical. So, yes, this blog is called Soup du Jour and no there aren’t a ton of (or any until today) soup recipes on here and yes, I’ve made a winter chili sans chili powder in the fall. I’m just breaking all sorts of (imaginary) rules! Look out!

I got the inspiration for this soup, I mean chili, from one of my new favorite recipe blogs: Ambitious Kitchen. I followed Monique’s recipe for the most part, but without “technically” measuring anything and with the addition/omission of a few things. For example, I omitted the chili powder. It was not intentional. I realized I was out of chili powder after everything was already in the pot, boiling on the stove. I didn’t even shower (or change out of my clothes from the night before) until 5:00 yesterday so there was no chance I was going back out just for chili powder. Nevermind that chili powder may be one of the main ingredients in said chili.

I also added a LOT of tumeric. Last week, I took a class on the medicinal benefits of spices and learned that tumeric is a diversely powerful spice. I can’t remember all of the great things it can do, but trust me on this. It’s good for you.  I also added butternut squash since I had some leftover from a different recipe (which I promise to post soon).

The end result was a delicious treat that I am happy to share with you today, regardless of what you wanna call it.

WINTER QUINOA CHILI

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 teaspoons of olive oil
  • 1 small yellow onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 carrots, diced small
  • 1 can of tomato sauce
  • 1 box/4 cups of vegetable stock
  • 1 cup of butternut squash, cut into small cubes
  • 1 large sweet potato, cut into small cubes
  • 2 cans of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cups of cooked quinoa
  • smoked chipotle Tabasco sauce to taste (roughly 1 teaspoon)
  • an abundance of tumeric (Monique says 1/4 teaspoon. I say about 1/2)
  • a few sprinkles of cayenne pepper
  • cumin (Monique says 1/4 teaspoon)
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Cook the quinoa according to package directions and set aside. Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan/pot over medium heat. Add the onions, garlic, carrots, and generous dash of salt and saute until onions are translucent.

Add the tomato sauce. Then add the vegetable stock, black beans, quinoa and all of your spices. I like things to be well seasoned, so I am always generous with my spices. I encourage you to do the same!

Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and add the squash and sweet potato. Cover and let simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Serve with chipotle cream (recipe below), diced green onions, and yummy bread.

Note: Monique said she ate this with a fried egg on top and I cannot wait to try that! 

CHIPOTLE CREAM

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon of chipotle tabasco sauce
  • 1/4 – 1/2  teaspoon of dijon mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon of agave nectar or honey

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and stir until well blended. Scoop a dollop on your chili and ejoy! This really makes the chili soooo much better!

Recipe adapted from: Ambitious Kitchen

Leave a Reply

