SPINACH CALZONE

So, for a few weeks now I’ve been saying to myself, I need to update my blog. I need to update my blog. But I’m kind of having writer’s block. I have plenty of recipes to share, but nothing really exciting or insightful or witty to say about them. Maybe I’m just fooling myself into believing anyone other than my mom thinks that what I have to say is exciting, insightful or witty. And I can’t even say for sure if my mom thinks that. Maybe no one’s even reading anything I write on here… Hello? Are you there? Or maybe it’s okay to just post a recipe every once in a while, sans all the, what we call in the professional world, “blah blah.” And now Queen’s “Under Pressure” is in my head… and now I am listening to it on YouTube. True story.

Anyway, here’s a recipe for a mostly vegan calzone I made a few weeks ago. I would say it’s vegan, but I didn’t make the dough and I didn’t read the ingredients so I have no idea if the dough contained animal products or not. I bought the dough at the Giant. It’s hard to find just balls of dough, like they have at Bertucci’s, in the grocery store. So whenever I see dough like that, I buy it. I’ve heard Trader Joe’s has good whole wheat dough. I’ll have to check it out. I said dough 6, now 7, times in this paragraph. Wow.

MOSTLY/POSSIBLY-VEGAN SPINACH CALZONE

It’s been so long since I actually made this, I’m having a hard time remembering what I did. And I certainly cannot remember any of the measurements. I know you’re probably questioning my credibility right now, but work with me people. I just need a minute to think… Ok. I’m winging the measurements.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ball of dough (you can make your own or buy pre-made)
  • 1 bag of baby spinach, about 3-4 cups (this seems like a lot but spinach cooks down so much)
  • 1 small white onion (optional. I can’t remember if I used one or not!)
  • 1 cup of extra firm tofu, drained and then crumbled
  • 1 cup of mozzarella cheese (I used veggie shreds, soy cheese)
  • Dash of garlic powder
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Flour or seminola flour
  • marinara sauce for dipping (I made mine from this recipe here, but feel free to buy pre-made)

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 450 degrees. Put a pizza stone in the oven and warm it up for 30 minutes to an hour before cooking.

In a medium or large sauce pan over medium heat, cook the onion in a bit of olive oil until it’s soft. Add the spinach and cook it down.

Combine the tofu, cheese, garlic, cinnamon, egg and salt and pepper in a bowl. Mix together well. So, I realize that eggs are not vegan and I said this was a mostly vegan recipe. The recipe I adapted this from used an egg, which I assumed was to hold the cheese mixture together. After I had made the recipe, I decided I did not need the egg and would not use it the next time I made this. So, use or omit the egg. It’s up to you. And now that I am thinking more about this, I am wondering if I used ricotta cheese… I am horrible, aren’t I? This is what happens when you wait weeks to post recipes. Well, either way, it won’t hurt if you do or you don’t add ricotta. Right?

Add the spinach and onion to the cheese and tofu mixture. Stir until it’s pretty well blended together.

Roll out your pizza dough. Get it as stretched and as thin as you can without it breaking. Make sure your work surface and pizza peel (in my case, a long wooden bread board) are well floured. Put the dough on the pizza peel before you load it up with spinach. One ball of dough allowed me to make two large calzones, both full with the spinach mixture.

Place one half of the spinach mixture on one half of the dough. Fold the other half of the dough over, pinching the edges so that no spinach mixture will seep out. Repeat with the rest of the spinach mixture and your other rolled out dough.

Bake on the pizza stone in the oven for 20-30 minutes or until the dough has risen and is slightly browned on the top. If you want, brush the top of the dough with olive oil, parm cheese and any other spices before you bake it. I didn’t do this. I just thought of it. It sounds like a good idea.

Serve immediately with warmed up marinara.

Note: I truly apologize if you make this just like I’ve said here and it turns out all wrong. Like I said, I did my best to remember what I did here! And I really guessed on the measurements. I’m sorry! The calzones were delicious though, so I recommend trying them even if I sound like a crazy novice in this post! I always like to say, recipes are just a suggestion! So winging it is always a good idea. And by always I mean usually.

Recipe adapted from: The Healthy Foodie

 

 

One thought on “SPINACH CALZONE

  1. Sarah! You live 3 mins away from the best dough! Get it at Ceriellos. It’s all natural integredients and good. TJs dough is good too, although their whole wheat dough is a bit tough to work with, I think. If you work it too much, it gets really chewy fast.

Leave a Reply

