BEAN CHIMICHANGAS

(note: I’m posting this a week after I wrote it so please excuse the odd references to things that happened a week ago.)

I am coming off the most fattening weekend of my life. That may be an exaggeration, but on Monday night (it was a long holiday weekend), I was feeling pretty crappy about all the fried food I ate and beer I drank over the weekend. I went to Philly for the Made in America festival. It was amazing. So much fun, so many great performances, and so many fun people to hang out with. I may have danced off as many calories as I ate, but regardless, there was absolutely no need for me to be eating fried pickles, mac and cheese, and sweet potato fries all in one bite at 11 pm after a day of drinking Bud heavies and snacking on soft pretzels. Needless to say, I felt pretty disgusting afterwards. So I promised myself I’d be really good this week, eat right and hit the gym hard… which I’ve kind of done.

Despite barely being able to fit into my pants, my body was still craving that “comfort” food when really it should have been saying “lettuce for dinner.” So on Tuesday night, I wanted to eat something that wasn’t god awful for me, but was more than a handful of baby carrots. And the obvious choice was bean chimichangas. Duh.

Okay, so I realize these probably aren’t that great for you. But I took steps to make sure they were healthier than they could have been. That’s what I told myself anyway.

BEAN CHIMICHANGAS

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 large, whole wheat tortillas
  • 1 cup of vegetarian refried beans
  • 1 cup of black beans
  • 1/c cup of enchilada sauce
  • 1/2 cup of diced tomatoes with chiles (from a can)
  • 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese (I used “veggie shreds”)
  • a few dashes of cinnamon
  • dash of garlic powder
  • Tofutti sour cream (optional)
  • Hot sauce (optional)

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine the black beans, enchilada sauce, diced tomatoes, cinnamon and garlic powder. I had saved some enchilada sauce from my vegetable enchiladas, so that’s what I used here. But if you don’t have that, you can either buy enchilada sauce or omit it and use salsa instead.

Warm the tortillas in the microwave so they are easier to work with. Spread refried beans in center of tortillas, followed by black beans and cheese. Carefully roll up the tortilla, tucking in the sides so that your filling is not spilling out. (This has always been a challenge for me.)

Warm some olive or canola oil in a medium skillet, over medium heat. Flash fry the chimichangas very briefly so that they are slightly browned on the outside. Place the chimichangas, seam side down, on a baking sheet lined with foil and bake for 15-20 minutes, until warmed through and your tortillas are a bit crispy.

Serve with sour cream and hot sauce (optional).

Note: I could really taste the cinnamon and felt like it was an excellent addition! It really gave the chimis a unique flavor. I think I would add a few more dashes the next time I make these.

Recipe adapted from: LilLuna.com

Leave a Reply

