BAKED NECTARINE FRENCH TOAST

I have a lot of necklaces. I’m not one to brag (or maybe I am), but I have a reputation at work for having the best necklaces. Really, I just have a lot of necklaces because I’m too lazy to put together real outfits. White shirt, black pants, big colorful necklace… Bam! Grey t-shirt, skinny jeans, big shiny necklace… Bam! Your outfit just went from boring to enviously desired. You could wear the same thing every day of the week and just throw on a different necklace and people think you’re stylish. Fools. Or maybe that truly is a way of being stylish… It’s my way anyway.

Anyway, my co-worker and friend, Andrea, realizes how genius this is. She’s going to a very casual wedding on the Cape this weekend, so naturally, she asked me if she could borrow some jewelry to spice up some of her linen pants-suits. Ha. I just said pants suit. Being the generous friend that I am, I invited her and her daughter over for dinner so that she could peruse all of my necklaces without me having to bring them all to work. Of course, she was delighted to do so. And once she got there, I think she was shocked at just how many necklaces I really do have. I kinda was too. I had forgotten about many of them.

Our original plan was to order take-out to keep things simple. But then Andrea came up with the brilliant plan to make french toast. And I added to this great idea by saying we should wear our pajamas! So, Andrea and Lydia came over, Lydia in her Little Mermaid pajamas, Andrea in yoga pants, and me in my plaid pj pants and Ray Rice t-shirt. They brought the bread and the stuff to dip the toast in (pre-mixed!). And I provided the baked nectarines to top off our french toast. It was so good! Through the entire dinner, we couldn’t stop complimenting ourselves on how smart we are. Breakfast, in your pajamas, in the early evening, followed by a necklace fashion show. What could be better?!

FRENCH TOAST WITH BAKED NECTARINES

Ingredients:

  • A loaf of bread (we used a few days old french bread), cut into 1/4-1/2 inch slices
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2-1 cup of milk (I can’t remember how much milk Andrea said she used)
  • 1 tbsp (or 2?) of vanilla
  • A few shakes of cinnamon
  • 2 nectarines, halved, seed removed
  • Drizzles of agave nectar
  • Butter, for the pan
  • Powdered sugar
  • Maple syrup, warmed in the microwave

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Lay the nectarines, skins down, on a baking sheet. Drizzle with a generous amount of agave nectar and sprinkle with a generous amount of cinnamon. Bake for about 15-20 minutes. When soft and warmed through, slice into small chunks.

Whisk together eggs, milk, vanilla, and some cinnamon in a large, shallow bowl. Heat a large plate or glass baking dish in the microwave.

Melt butter in a medium skillet over medium heat. Dip both sides of the bread into the egg mixture, fully saturating the bread, but not sogging it. Place bread in the skillet and cook until slightly browned. Flip and cook the other side until slightly browned. We were able to do 3 pieces of bread at a time. Transfer to the warm plate. (If you have two ovens, or if you cook your nectarines first, you can keep your french toast warm in the oven, at a very low temperature, until ready to serve.)

Serve french toast topped with powdered sugar, baked nectarines, and warmed maple syrup. Feel free to lick the plate when finished. And serve with mimosas if your crowd is old enough!

 

Leave a Reply

