CHEESY QUINOA CAKES: TAKE TWO

So, I know I already posted about these quinoa cakes. But I made them again last night and they came out so much better. So I must tell you what I did differently. First, I used shredded cheese, and by cheese I mean mozzarella flavored rice shreds (aka vegan cheese) and two dollops of cream cheese and by cream cheese I mean Tofutti Better than Cream Cheese (aka vegan cream cheese). Also, I added the quinoa to the mixture while it was still hot, which allowed the cheese to melt. The melted cheese and the addition of the cream cheese really made the cakes a consistency that stayed together much better when cooking. I also added fresh basil and garlic powder to the “batter.” And I fried them in a small skillet, that only allowed me to make 3 at a time. They were so much better. I took them to a girl’s night, where they seemed to be a hit!

REVISED CHEESY QUINOA CAKES

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • about 1/3 or 1/2 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese, vegan cheese is optional
  • 2 dollops of cream cheese, vegan cheese is optional
  • 2 green onions, sliced thin
  • a handful of fresh basil, chopped
  • a few sprinkles of garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • canola oil (for the skillet)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients (except for the oil) in a mixing bowl and mix together until well blended. Heat oil in a small-medium skillet over medium heat. Form patties out of the mixture, using a tablespoon to help determine how much “batter” to use. Cook the patties in the skillet a few at a time, until browned on both sides, about 3 minutes on each side. The more oil you have in the skillet, the less dry the patties will get, making them taste better in the end.

Serve immediately with your favorite dipping sauce or aioli.

One thought on “CHEESY QUINOA CAKES: TAKE TWO

Leave a Reply

