BAKED NECTARINES

I like to give myself snaps for this recipe. It’s not complicated, it’s not super creative, but it’s mine. I made it up all by myself a few years ago, before this blog was ever even a thought in my mind and before I did much in the kitchen beyond making grilled cheese and heating up Lean Cuisines in the microwave.

I was living in Federal Hill at the time. One random week night, when I was home alone, most likely watching the Bachelorette, I had a hankering for something sweet. I don’t usually keep sweets in the house because I don’t like to tempt myself, but sometimes, you just NEED something sweet. Ya know? I didn’t want to risk losing my parking spot to go out to get anything. And it was late, so I couldn’t phone a friend (preferably one with a parking pad) to head out on this excursion with me. So, the next logical step was to rummage through the cabinets, freezer, fridge, nightstands, trying to find something sweet that I could steal from my roommates. Then I came across a nectarine or peach (I can’t remember) and a bottle of maple syrup. A light bulb went off inside my head. Now, whether or not I stole the ingredients for this recipe is irrelevant, because I cannot remember those details. Truthfully, there’s a lot about this story that I can’t remember (I made up most of the details above), but the important thing is a genius idea was born that night. I cut the nectarine in half, drizzled some syrup on it, baked it in the oven, and viola! I had an amazing, unexpected, sweet treat. I’ve modified the recipe a bit over the years and have lived to tell about it.

BAKED NECTARINES

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 ripe nectarines (or however many you need/want, depending on your number of guests, but I’d say 1 nectarine for every two people)
  • Agave nectar (or maple syrup, or honey)
  • Cinnamon
  • Brown sugar (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cut each nectarine in half and discard the seed. Set nectarines down on a foil lined baking sheet, skin side down, cut side up. Drizzle with agave nectar, about 1 tbsp worth, allowing a few small pools to form in the nectarine, where the seed was. Sprinkle cinnamon liberally over the nectarines. If using, add a few pinches of brown sugar.

Bake in the oven for about 15 minutes, or until the nectarines are soft and warm all the way through. Serve with a dip of your favorite ice cream or frozen yogurt!

Note: You can use peaches, but I personally prefer nectarines. This is such an easy dessert, but I’m telling you, it will impress any dinner guest! I know from experience.

2 thoughts on “BAKED NECTARINES

  1. Pingback: BAKED NECTARINE FRENCH TOAST | Soup Du Jour

  2. I made the backed nectarines with peaches…I liked the peaches. Also just made it with pears recently. I didn’t like that as much.

Leave a Reply

