Pinterest Potatoes

It happens to all of us. We stare into the fridge, door wide open, wasting energy, not seeing any of the food or possibilities in front of us. Exasperated, we eventually slam the door shut and exclaim, “MOM, there is NO food in this house!!!” But actually, the shelves are packed to the gills. Last night was one of those nights.

So maybe I didn’t yell MOM (you know, since I’m an adult now and live on my own) and I don’t think I slammed any doors. But I did stand my kitchen for a good 5 minutes, opening and closing the refrigerator, taking things out, then putting them back, talking out loud to myself about what the hell I was gonna make for dinner. I knew what my problem was. I was craving was another potato pie (that and I’m an indecisive person). But I didn’t have any more dough, so I would have to live without. The potatoes I had leftover from the farmer’s market were getting a little soft, so I had to use them. Then I remembered these potatoes that I pinned a few weeks ago and thought perfect, I’ll make something like that. Since the flavors of the potato pie were still in the front of my brain, I decided to incorporate the extra rosemary, fontina, and onion. And I have to say, the end result was pretty delicious! I was pleasantly surprised. Especially since I made a few rookie mistakes in the prep of this recipe (I put the cheese and onions on the potatoes at the start, forgetting potatoes take way longer to cook. duh, Sarah, duh!). Since I got the idea to slice the potatoes like this from Pinterest, I am calling this recipe, Pinterest Potatoes.

Image

Pinterest Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • A few medium potatoes (or however many you want to make. I made three. Two of my potatoes were pretty small.)
  • A quarter of a white onion, sliced thin (optional)
  • Fontina or parmesan cheese
  • Fresh rosemary, about one sprig or to taste
  • 1-2 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 garlic clove, pressed
  • Sea salt and pepper to taste
  • A few drizzles of olive oil (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Put the flattest side of your potato down, and cut 3-4 mm slices from one end of the potato to the other, but don’t cut all the way through. Spread potato slices out a bit. Place in an oven safe dish.

Combine garlic and butter in a small dish, preferably one with a spout. Heat in the microwave for about 30 seconds, or until the butter is melted. Pour over the potatoes, making sure to get it between the cracks. There will be butter spilled over into your dish, but that’s a good thing! Here’s where you can drizzle a little olive oil in the pan. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and rosemary. If using onions, put them in your butter dish and swirl them around, so they get a light coating of butter and garlic. Or toss them in olive oil in a separate dish. (I’m lazy so I prefer to use as few dishes as possible when cooking so I don’t have as much to clean up.)

Bake the potatoes in the oven for about 30 minutes, or until they seem like they are pretty close to being done. Remove from oven and top with cheese and, if using, scatter onions in the dish. Bake for another 10-20 minutes, until cheese is melted and potatoes are crispy on the outside. Top with a bit more rosemary and fresh cheese and enjoy! Best when eaten while watching Million Dollar Listing repeats.

A few notes: Because I am an idiot and put my cheese and onions in way too early, my taters came out with some crispy cheese hunks and some black onion straws. I still ate some of the onion straws b/c I actually like the taste of burnt food. But I realize that burnt food isn’t for everyone. Before I ate the potatoes, I added some fresh parmesan cheese flakes and a few extra rosemary leaves (I guess you’d call them leaves, right?).

2 thoughts on “Pinterest Potatoes

  1. I love Million Dollar Listing Los Angeles. These would look so pretty at Thanksgiving or a dinner party. Great idea.

Leave a Reply

