BRUSSEL SPROUT CROSTINI

brussel sprout crostini filter 1
I have a case of the Mondays. Which probably is not the best time to write a blog post. So, please forgive me if this post is rather boring. I promise you that the recipes I am about to share are anything but.

Last week I had my friends Jen and Jenn over for dinner. We were supposed to be a group of 7 girls, but as dinner parties and get togethers often go, you end up with less people and more food than you originally planned for. But don’t worry; the three of us pigged out as if there were 7 people there.

I made brussel sprout crostini and a whole wheat pasta with spinach, chickpeas, sun-dried tomatoes, feta, fresh basil and parsley. If you are going to make the brussel sprout crostini, I recommend waiting to make it until right before your guests are arriving. I made mine too early and it was kind of cold. Still good, but cold. And I completely forgot to add the garlic, which I had roasted the night before. Again, still good. But the garlic probs would have been better. I had a ton of leftover pasta which I ate cold (and preferred it cold) for lunch for the next few days. It was quite yummy! I am going to post about that separately though because I am out of time and I completely made up that recipe so I need a few to remember what I did. In the meantime…

BRUSSEL SPROUT CROSTINI

brussel sprout crostini 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 or 1/2 of a whole wheat baguette
  • a bit of olive oil
  • 3 heads of garlic, roasted and mashed (see instructions below)
  • 1 1/2 cups of brussel sprouts, shaved thin on a mandolin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • a generous sprinkle of nutmeg
  • Parmesan cheese (about 1/2 cup)

Directions:

To roast the garlic, preheat oven to 375. Chop off the top portion of the garlic head to reveal cloves. Lightly rub back and forth to remove paper and peel any excess paper off. Pour about a teaspoon of olive oil on top of the garlic cloves and let soak for 10 minutes. Cover with foil and roast in a baking dish for 45 minutes, or until golden brown. Let cool, then squeeze from the bottom of the garlic head to remove carmelized cloves. Mash with a fork.

Pre-heat oven to 325. Slice your baguette into thin pieces. Spread evenly on a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil. Bake for 8-10 minutes, rotating the pan half way through.

Heat some olive oil in a medium size skillet over medium high heat. I used coconut oil here because it’s my new cooking oil of choice, but olive oil will work fine. Add the brussel sprouts, salt, pepper and nutmeg and saute for about 10 minutes, until your sprouts are wilted and a little golden. Add shaved parmesan cheese.

When the bread is done toasting, spread with a bit of mashed, roasted garlic (which I forgot to do). Top with brussel sprouts, another slice of parm cheese and freshly ground black pepper. Serve immediately.

Recipe adapted from: howsweeteats.com

Leave a Reply

